What’s for Dinner: Fish Tacos, Whole Grain Rice, Broiled Squash & Zucchini

by Ashley

On my way home from work today, the thought of fish tacos started to make my mouth water.  I decided that’s what we’d have for dinner tonight.  I bought the ingredients for them at the grocery store yesterday with the plan of having them some time this week, and I guess tonight was the night!  I came up with this random “throw together” of ingredients several months ago, and it is a hit in my opinion.  First, buy your favorite white fish to use in the tacos.  I bought cod this time because I like its mild flavor and dense consistency.  I put a splash or two of lemon juice on the fish and seasoned it with garlic and lemon pepper.  (You can season it however you wish, but this is one of my favorite ways of doing it with fish tacos.)  Broil the fish for about 8-10 minutes until the fish is fully cooked. 

Put the fish in a bowl and flake it with a fork until its all broken up.  Meanwhile, let the fish cool and put together the sauce.  I put a little fat free sour cream (or plain greek yogurt), chunky salsa, and lemon juice into a small bowl and mix it up.  I usually like to add small bits of avocado to it too, but I forgot to pick those up at the store. 😦  (And yes, I am a big “Great Value” brand fan when it comes to condiments and canned foods…you can’t beat the price!)

After the sauce is mixed together, stuff some corn tortillas with a couple small spoonfulls of the fish and a dab of the sauce.  Add a few leaves of lettuce/spinach/cabbage in each taco and viola!    There you have your fish tacos!

I paired the fish tacos with some broiled squash and zucchini that I seasoned with garlic, salt, and pepper.  I also added in a side of whole grain Santa Fe style rice. (thanks Uncle Ben!)

 

Let me just say that my tummy is quite happy at the moment!  Those fish tacos sure hit the spot.  Cody agrees. 🙂 

I think we’re going to go out and take a stroll around the neighborhood with the pups and then relax while watching some “LOST” on Netflix.  Oh, and one more highlight of my day I forgot to mention earlier… I stopped at Barnes & Noble on my way home from work to pick up a new book I’ve been wanting called “Carrots ‘N’ Cake” by author and blog writer Tina Haupert.  I’m already in three chapters, and it’s fantastic!  Her sense of humor, honesty, and outlook on life is so refreshing.  Make sure you check out her blog www.carrotsncake.com and pick up her book!  It’s a great read (so far)!

 

  • What meals make your mouth water at the thought of them?
  • Is there a specific book you have been wanting to buy/read?  If so, which ones?
Leave a Reply

