Always Hungry Days

by Ashley

We had a really nice evening.  Our pastor’s daughter moved back home, and they needed some extra bodies to help with the moving process.  We offered to help, and it actually ended up being a fun little “social event.”  Other friends of our’s from our church were over there helping too which made it enjoyable.  They rewarded us with pizza in exchange for our help, and we graciously accepted a free dinner!  I chose the veggie pizza, which was quite delicious.  It was really neat to see friends come from near and far to help out.  Our church family is such an awesome community, and we’re so thankful to be part of such a great group of people.  Unfortunately, I left after having two slices of pizza still feeling hungry!  I was so annoyed.  I felt like I was constantly hungry today, and I didn’t understand why. 

Do you  never have those days where you feel like you’re always hungry?  Even after you eat…you’re still hungry… Um, so frustrating!  Maybe it’s just me?  I don’t know.  (C’mon friends, don’t let me feel like it’s just me that feels like this sometimes! :/)  Well today was definitely one of those “always hungry days.”  I’d have a meal or snack, and then not even an hour later, I’d be wanting something else to eat.  Maybe I didn’t have a big enough lunch?  Or maybe I didn’t eat enough yesterday so it’s carrying over to today?  Or maybe it’s just “one of those days” that the cravings won’t stop?  Who knows!  But regardless, I didn’t exactly eat how I would have liked.  I wouldn’t say it was all that “bad”, just not great.  Let’s walk through my day…

  • Breakfast: the “regular” PB&J on wheat bread with an iced coffee
  • Lunch: leftover spaghetti squash, carrots, and a pear 
  • Snack #1: high fiber granola bar
  • Snack #2: lemon protein pudding (I’ll fill you in on this in a minute…it’s delish!)
  • Snack #3: Spinach salad
  • Dinner: 2 small/medium slices of veggie pizza and carrots
  • Dessert: “Reduced Fat Sugar Free Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream” (too many scoops) with a couple extra tablespoons peanut butter mixed in

Ok, so I wouldn’t call it terrible, but let’s just say I don’t usually have THREE afternoon snacks or that large of a dessert.  Usually I’ll have ONE afternoon snack and maybe a small dessert.  But anyway, it is what it is, and we all have “those days”, right?  I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s okay to have the occasional day that maybe you eat a bit too much or have “too big” of a dessert.  What’s life without the occasional indulegence?  It’s all about balance.  So, tomorrow… hopefully it’s not one of those “always hungry days” for me, and I’ll get back on track with a good workout. 

I do have to say though, I sure did enjoy every single thing I put in my mouth today.  The lemon protein pudding is one of my new favorite snacks/desserts, and it’s so easy to make!  Buy some sugar free lemon flavored JELL-O pudding and prepare it according to the directions with skim/nonfat milk.  (Or any pudding flavor)  In addition, add a scoop of vanilla protein powder to the mix.  Whisk it all together, let it set in the refrigerator, and ta-da!  There you have your easy, delicious, protein packed pudding.  It’s a nice, healthy treat if you’re having a sweet tooth or need some extra protein and/or calcium for the day.  Feel free to try other pudding flavors with various protein powders  and add some fruit in there too!  (I plan on it!) 

 

Not only did I enjoy my protein pudding snack, but the ice cream sure tasted yummy too.  My taste buds are always happy when they have ice cream and/or peanut butter…the mix of the two is even better!  Now that my taste buds and belly are satisfied and finally full, I’m just hoping I don’t have another “always hungry day” tomorrow. 

  • Do you ever feel like you have those “always hungry days”?  If so, how do you deal with it?
  • What’s your favorite dessert choices? (Mine definitely includes ice cream and peanut butter!)
2 Comments to “Always Hungry Days”

  1. Hey Ashley! I have those “Always Hungry” days quite often, and yesterday was actually one of them for me, as well. I was in the car for 4 hours thru the afternoon and managed to eat most of a bag of Skittles, snacked on Pumpkin Seeds, and stopped for a Hot Fudge Sundae from DQ (though I didn’t let myself finish it. haha) I guess it’s a good thing I don’t drive for a living…because I like to snack in the car, especially if I’m driving.
    The lemon protein pudding sounds really good! I might have to give that a shot. Thanks for sharing.
    Just wanted to stop by and let you know that you ARE NOT alone! 🙂
    Hope today is better for you!

  2. oh my gosh that was me yesterday! so frustrating! even though i ate normally fillig meals and snacks… all i wanted was more!
    so, you most definitely are NOT alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

