What’s for Dinner: Thai Red Curry with Chicken, Vegetables, and Rice

by Ashley

Today has been pretty uneventful to be honest.  I didn’t sleep well last night, so I was feeling quite lazy most of the day.  Luckily, it was my day off (I work Monday/Wednesday/Friday/Sunday most weeks), so I didn’t have to worry about trying to be too productive.  I was doing well and plugging along until after lunch when I went to go get my hair trimmed.  I felt like I was about to fall asleep as the lady was washing my hair (it felt so good!), and then again when she was blow drying it.  Today I just got my hair “cleaned up” and reshaped.  Ahh it’s always such a great feeling after you get your hair done.  It just feels lighter and healthier.  Like the ‘do? 🙂

When I got home, Cody was in his office on a conference call for work.  I snuggled up on the couch as I read my newly purchased book, “Carrots ‘N’ Cake”… and before I knew it, I had finished!  I was actually kind of sad when it came to the end.  It was SO good!  I had a feeling I’d finish it by the end of the week!  It does include a lot of great recipes, so I am looking forward to trying some out.

Tonight I decided to cook some Thai Red Curry with Chicken, Vegetables, and Rice.  Thai food (particularly any curry) is a favorite of our’s and has become a staple in our house.  Cody introduced it to me at a Thai restaurant when we were dating, and I fell in love.  One of my friends taught me how to make it soon after that (thanks Renee!), and I was so excited to try it out.  I remember being a little nervous the first time I made it because I wanted it to taste as good as the first time I had it at the restaurant with Cody.  Sure enough, it was pretty darn good!  Since then, we’ve gotten creative with different combinations of curries, vegetables, meats, and other additions.  It’s quite fun, easy, and very tasty!  I do have to say I was quite bummed when I read the Nutrition Facts for the coconut milk (the base of the curry).  It is extremely high in fat and calories.  No wonder it’s so yummy!  Then Smith’s (our grocery store) saved the day and came out with a “Light Coconut Milk”.  It’s 60% less calories and fat!  I tried it out hoping that it’d still taste as great as the original, and sure enough, it’s a winner.  If you like “spicy-ish” food and/or Asian food, you should try this out!

Thai Curry

Ingredients:

1-3 tablespoons curry paste of your choice (amount depends on level of spicyness)

2 cans (Light) Coconut Milk

Vegetables (Be creative…try any you like!  We like potatoes, peppers, snap peas, mushrooms, etc.)

Meat of your choice  cut into bite size pieces (I prefer boneless, skinless chicken breast)

 

1 tablespoon fish oil (can be found at an oriental supermarket)

2 teaspoons garlic powder or 2 cloves of garlic

Optional toppings: peanuts, dried Ramen noodles, pineapple, peanut butter

Jasmine Rice and/or brown rice

Directions:

Heat both cans of coconut milk in large skillet.  Add curry paste and stir until paste has dissolved into coconut milk.  Keep on heat until oil separates from coconut milk and curry paste, but do not bring to a boil.  Add fish oil and garlic.  Add meat and vegetables and bring to a boil until meat is cooked and vegetables are tender.  Serve over rice.  (Jasmine rice tastes wonderful with it, but brown rice is more nutritious, so take your pick.  I usually have a little of both.) 

Delicious!  I had a small side salad to go with it to get in some extra veggies, and I was a happy girl.  Now off I go to take a walk with the hubby and pups, and then curl up on the couch to watch some “LOST” on Netflix.  See you in the morning!

4 Comments to “What’s for Dinner: Thai Red Curry with Chicken, Vegetables, and Rice”

  1. Looks very yummy Ash!! Way to go on sharing the Thai food love…everyone should experience it in their life. I love reading your new blog! I feel like even though we don’t talk on the phone, I’m still being filled in on life in the Wiseman household. Miss you guys, wish we lived closer! Love ya!

    • Thanks to you for sharing it with us. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoy reading it. That’s my hope to keep everyone “up to date” on our lives. Miss you guys! Love you too.

  2. I love this…you make it seem so easy and I love that you put up pictures of the ingredients that way I know what to look for!! Thanks for the great recipes!!

Leave a Reply

