Vera Bradley and Banana Smoothies

by Ashley

As I was driving home from work today, my tummy was grumbling at me.  I was trying to decide what exactly I wanted for a mid-afternoon snack when I got home.  I realized I hadn’t gotten in a lot of fruit so far today, so that was a must, and a little protein wouldn’t hurt to help fill me up a bit either.  I decided on a banana smoothie.  Banana smoothies are one of my favorite summer snacks.  They’re simple, refreshing, nutritious, and yummy!  So when I got home, I got out my handy-dandy Magic Bullet.  If you’ve never seen or used one of these bad boys, I suggest trying it out!  It’s like a mini blender and is very convenient for making sauces, dressings, and of course, SMOOTHIES!  I got it for a Christmas present from my parents while I was in college (because they know my love for smoothies), and I’ve used it a ton ever since. 

 I took out a frozen banana from my stash in the freezer, measured out a 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk, dumped it into a Magic Bullet cup, added some ice cubes, blended it together, and viola!  Simple as that!  There I had myself a delicious banana smoothie.  I would definitely consider this a “snack size” smoothie as it was pretty small…perfect for what I wanted at the time though.  I’ve made it into more of a “meal size” smoothie by adding a scoop of vanilla protein powder and some more soy milk, and that tastes wonderful too!

Banana “Snack Size” Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana

1/2 cup vanilla soy milk

A few ice cubes

Sweetener of choice (optional)

Directions:  Add all ingredients to a blender.  Blend until smooth.  Enjoy!

Ahh, my tummy felt better and my taste buds were satisfied, I was home from work, and it’s Friday!  I was a happy camper.  But then the day got even better!  I went out to get the mail, and there was a small package from my mom.  I opened it, and it was a wallet purse from Vera Bradley with a sweet card from her!  I probably had the biggest smile on my face.  It was such a nice little surprise.  The card made me miss her even more and I wanted to give her a big hug, but I suppose I’ll have to wait.  Isn’ t it cute?  (If you’ve never heard of Vera Bradley, go to www.verabradley.com.  They have some great stuff!)

Even the card is cute!

Thank you, Momma!  You did good!  I LOVE YOU!

And tonight I get to look forward to a laid back evening with my hubby, a yummy grilled chicken dinner, some froyo, and a movie rental!  Not a bad Friday if you ask me! 😉

  • What’s your favorite Friday night activity?
  • Are you more of a homebody or do you like to go out?  (or both like me…depends on the day! :)) 
  • Do you have a favorite afternoon snack?
6 Comments to “Vera Bradley and Banana Smoothies”

  1. I’m so glad you like it! BTW what’s froyo? All I can think of is “frozen yogurt”? I love your meal ideas – very nice…and to think you were going to marry some guy that cooked for you! See what fun you would be missing?? ❤

  2. My favorite afternoon snack is 6 oz light vanilla yogurt with 1/2 cut of fresh cut strawberries…..yummy.

    • Yum! That’s one of my favorites too! Have you tried Greek yogurt yet? It’s delicious AND has more than twice the protein than regular yogurt!

  3. I really love your attitude toward yourself and your body. Thank you for spreading the goodness!
    -Linda

Leave a Reply

