Discussion Topic: How do YOU get motivated to exercise?

by Ashley

Today was one of those days that I had a long list of things I wanted to do before a certain time, and it just didn’t happen.  I ended up messing around with my blog longer than I had planned this morning (like my new background? 😉 ) and that meant I didn’t get the other ten things I wanted to do finished.  Noon rolled around, and I still hadn’t done my workout, but I was starving.  I usually always try to fit in my workout before lunch, but today it just wasn’t happenin’.  So I had a yummy lunch of oatmeal (for some reason I am just really diggin’ oatmeal today) mixed with a ton of fruit, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and some vanilla soymilk.  I included a half of banana, half of a peach, and some strawberries to the fruit medley.  It hit the spot!

Fruit Medley Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oatmeal (uncooked)

1/2 banana

5 strawberries

1/2 peach

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 teaspoons sweetener (honey, sugar, brown sugar, Splenda, Truvia)

1/2 cup vanilla soymilk

Directions:

Slice up bite size pieces of the fruit and place in a bowl with the dry oatmeal.  Cook oatmeal with fruit in it according to directions (on stovetop or microwave).  Add cinnamon, sweetener, and soymilk and mix all together.  Makes 1 serving.

I promised myself after I let my food digest a little that I would make sure I did my workout.  So I did some laundry and cleaned the house a bit before deciding that it was time to get my workout on.  Except there was a minor major problem.  I had absolutely NO motivation to workout today.  I’ve realized that whenever I wait to do my workout until after lunch, my motivation goes out the window.  But I promised myself I’d do it, so with a little self talk, I managed to get moving.  I found a great strength training circuit workout awhile back that I’d been wanting to try, so I decided on that.  On a couple good notes: 1) It ended up being a great workout!  A little motivating self-talk goes a long way!  2) I thought that I could turn my lack of motivation today into a great discussion topic for my blog…   

A facebook friend of mine recently had on her status, “How do YOU get motivated to exercise?”  This really made me ponder this question.  What motivates me to exercise?  I suppose it’s been a way of life for me.  I’ve always been involved in sports and have always been active.  I also realized in college that it helped keep my stress and anxiety levels down.  And another thing, I love food.  I recognized that if I keep my activity levels up, I can still “have my cake and eat it too”.  I wouldn’t say I have a slow metabolism, but I’m definitely not one of those “skinny girls”.  Never have been, never will be.  I’ve accepted it.  But I do make it a priority to stay within a weight that is healthy for me.  And I believe I do that by eating healthy with the occasional indulgence, along with daily exercise.  However, I would say the biggest thing that motivates me to exercise is thinking of how I’ll feel when I’m finished.  I love that feeling when you’ve finished a hard workout, your energy is up, and you’re on that “high”.  It’s the feeling of doing something good for yourself and your body loving you for it.

People come with all different fitness backgrounds, personalities, interests, and metabolisms, so it makes sense as to why there’d be a variety of responses to this question.  Some people just LOVE to run, while others cringe when they even think of running.  Others stay active because they have to work harder to stay within their “healthy weight”, whereas others stay active because they simply enjoy it. 

So now comes the BIG QUESTION OF THE DAY:

  • How do YOU get motivated to exercise?  (Discuss away my friends!  Don’t hesitate to leave your thoughts in a comment!)

Stay tuned for tomorrow, and I’ll give you some of my own personal tips and suggestions on how to get motivated to exercise! 🙂

5 Comments to “Discussion Topic: How do YOU get motivated to exercise?”

  1. Girl I LOVE that energy from a great (and tough) workout too! That’s what keeps me movin.

    Glad you loved the workout! I’ve always got more if you’re looking for a particular one… Just lemme know. 🙂

  2. I had this thought about a year ago when someone said the hated exercising and love eating, Eating we love and feel bad after, exercise we don’t like to do, but feel great after! It was just an insight for myself and had to share it with the complainer trying to pass on exercising with me. I actually love exercising, but I go through waves of figuring when to exercise and can get on a roll for many weeks in a row and then something changes in my life and I lose focus. My life/job does not have a routine and it messes me up. What motivates me again is remembering how good I felt when I was consistant, I felt strong, healthy and sexy. What I don’t get about myself is if I know these things, why I can’t seem to stay consistant. I made some motivating posters to help remind me of why I want to exercise and get healthy and they help me too as I read them from time to time! Another thing that motivates me is reading about health and exercise and get inspired by others succeeding in what I struggle with. I also get bored and do what is comfortable, I need to push myself better and from time to time I seem to be able to do that. As you can see I am all over the place on motivating myself or should I say exercising……..oh and a glance in the mirror always helps…LOL

    • I think we all go through those up and down times. You’re doing great, Lisa! Anything I can do to help you stay/get motivated, let me know. 🙂 Your determination and not giving up is very inspiring!

  3. Yesterday was my lack of motivation to exercise day as well. In fact it was a lack of motivation to do anything day. I finally got around to going for a run around 8 o’clock last night. It was this blog and fit bottomed girls that finally inspired my motivation. I find that reading about people’s success stories helps me. Also, I get bored with doing the same workouts over and over. I get motivated when I try different workouts. I love trying new things so I can find something that works well for me.

    Thanks for sharing! I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who struggles with exercise motivation.

Leave a Reply

