(At Home) Full Body Circuit Workout

by Ashley

Good morning!  I started my day off right with this great full body circuit workout that I initially came up with for my clients when I worked as a personal trainer.  We, of course, always did it at the gym, but this specific workout you can easily do at home too. (I did!)  It’s a great circuit-style workout, which is my favorite for getting your heart rate up, working multiple muscle groups, and getting a lot accomplished in a short amount of time.  Plus, circuit-style workouts rarely ever get boring because the exercises are changing constantly! 

I pulled out all of the equipment I’d need for my workout:

5 lb. and 10 lb. dumbbells  (You can use weights that are most comfortable for you…as long as you have a lighter set and a heavier set.)

A resistence band.

A towel (or mat).

And of course, my ipod dock to blast some rockin’ workout tunes.

(At Home) Full Body Circuit Workout

Warm up (light jog, jumping jacks, jump rope) 5-10 minutes

Go through each exercise for one minute.  Take a 30 second rest at the end of the circuit.  Repeat circuit. (I will italicize the amount of weight I use for each exercise, but do whatever is comfortable for you.  Start low if you’re a beginner and move your way up.)  You can YouTube any of the exercises you are unfamiliar with, otherwise feel free to ask me! 

Chest:

Pushups (You can go to knee pushups if regular ones start to get too tough)

Dumbbell chest fly 10 lbs.

Dumbbell unstable chest press 10 lbs.

High knees

(Repeat circuit)

Shoulders/Back:

Dumbbell lateral/anterior shoulder raise (alternate between the two motions) 5 lbs.

Dumbbell standing row 5 lbs.

Dumbbell shoulder press to twist 5-10 lbs.

Jumping jacks

(Repeat circuit)

Biceps/Triceps (Optional circuit):

Dumbbell tricep kickbacks 5 lbs.

Bicep curl while in lunge form 5-10 lbs. (Alternate legs second time through circuit)

Tricep dips (on chair/couch)

Butt kicks

(Repeat)

Lower Body:

Sumo squats with pulse (3 pulses, full squat, repeat) 10 lbs.

Alternating forward lunge 10 lb. dumbbells in each hand

Side-to-side leg crawl with resistence band

Jump squats

(Repeat)

Core:

Bicycle crunch

Plank

Double crunch

Mountain climbers

(Repeat)

Make sure you cool down by stretching or jogging lightly in place for 5-10 minutes.

This workout is pretty intense, so make sure your body is fueled (you’ve eaten within the past two hours) and that you listen to your body as you go through the workout.  I made the bicep/tricep circuit optional because your biceps and triceps are smaller muscle groups and are used while doing the exercises you do in the other circuits.  If you want to make the workout a little shorter or less challenging, I would suggest leaving it out.  However, it’s a great circuit and if you’re looking for more of a challenge, definitely include it.  The entire workout will probably take you about 50 minutes.  

Let me know if you try it out and what you think!  Now I’m off to shower because I’m stinky and sweaty! 

P.S.  I made this awesome looking “Breakfast Cookie” I got from Fitnessista that I’m stoked to try for lunch.  (Yes, it says breakfast cookie, and I’m eating it for lunch…that’s just what I do.)  I’ll let you know later how it turned out! 😉 

Leave a Reply

