Disney’s “UP” House

by Ashley

Today was a great day, and it got better and better as it went on.  I love days like that!  First, let me just say that the “Breakfast Cookie” (thanks to Fitnessista) I had for lunch was very yummy!  I added some mashed up banana and cinnamon to my cookie.  I think I’m going to actually try it for breakfast tomorrow (seeing how it’s called a breakfast cookie and all), except I’m going to add/take out some ingredients to spice it up a bit.  I’ll fill you in on how that goes tomorrow. 😉  This afternoon I went to the D.I. (Deseret Industries…basically Utah’s version of “Savers” or “The Salvation Army”) to donate some clothing.  While I was there, I wanted to see if they had any silk/artificial trees to put in our living room because those things are darn expensive if you buy them brand new.  Sure enough, they had several for a whoppin’ 25 bucks!  Unfortunately I couldn’t get it home in my car, so Cody will have to drive me there in his truck one of these days. 

I came home to my tummy talking to me, so I decided to feed it a little snack.  I definitely needed to cram in some fruits and veggies to this snack, so I opted for a “snack size” smoothie.  I whipped out my Magic Bullet and got to work.  I included half of a banana, an overly ripe peach, a handful of spinach, and 1/2 cup vanilla soymilk.  Mmmm delicious!

Cody came home from an event for work and brought home some great goodies!  He brought home a free movie ticket coupon, a free t-shirt, a few other random goodies, and best yet, he gave me his trail mix!  I loooove trail mix.

As I was in the kitchen making dinner, I looked up to this cute little face staring back at me while he was hiding in the curtains. 🙂

For dinner I made homemade tostada shells with the “works” (seasoned ground turkey, refried beans, salsa, cheese, tomatoes), Mexican rice, and a salad.  Cody and I are in love with any Mexican food, so we were full and happy by the end.

Homemade Tostadas

Ingredients:

1 lb. lean ground turkey

1 packet taco seasoning

12 corn tortillas

1 can fat free refried beans

Any toppings (salsa, fat free sour cream, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes)

Directions:

To make tostada shells: Coat baking sheet with cooking spray.  Place corn tortillas on baking sheet and cover the top with cooking spray.  Place on top rack of oven and broil on low for about 10 minutes or until tortillas are crisp.

To make toppings: Brown ground turkey in a skillet on the stove.  Drain grease.  Add taco seasoning and let simmer for about 10 minutes.  Make refried beans according to directions.  Top tostada shells with all the toppings, and enjoy! Makes 6 servings (2 tostadas=1 serving)

Next was the best part of the evening… As I had mentioned earlier this week, we were going to be touring some of the homes in the “Parade of Homes” this week.  Tonight we got to see an exact replica of the house in Disney’s movie “UP”! 

And here’s the real deal!

We even got a photo with “Carl” and the young boy “Russel”.

The living room where Carl and Ellie sat.  It was just like in the movie!

And their cute little “Adventure Book”…

Even the fireplace was exactly what it looked like in the movie.  I loved the attention to all of the detail!

The kitchen wasn’t shown in the movie, but the builder did a great job creating a kitchen from what they would have imagined it being like.  I liked the light blue, “antique-ish” appliances!

It was such a cute and cozy home.  They said no one has bought it yet, and that it will officially go up for sale after this week.  Hmm… 😉

As we were on our way to the second home we were going to tour for the evening, I saw this sign.

Umm parade visitors?  That would be US!  I will never pass up free ice cream!  They ended up having fudgesicles and ice cream sandwiches.  I guess I was envisioning like the real thing…”true” ice cream cones.  I was bummed for 2 seconds, but I was still happy to have a free fudgesicle. 

Now we are home relaxing before bed, and I am content after a good day.  Sweet dreams! 🙂

Questions of the Evening:

  • Did you enjoy the “UP” movie (as much as I did)?
  • What is your favorite new(er) Disney movie?
3 Comments to “Disney’s “UP” House”

  1. I didn’t know there was a real “Up” house. That’s pretty sweet.

    1. My husband and I really liked “Up,” especially the first half. While it’s not the best of the Pixar movies (my fav is “Ratatouille”), it’s definitely up there as far as animated movies go.
    2. I’d have to say “Tangled” is one of the best newer Disney movies out there. 🙂

  2. I saw the “Up” house on the news and wondered if they did a good job on it. Glad you guys got to go see it!! We love tangled too. We watched at least 7 times in the first 3 days we owned it. Can’t wait to see how you breakfast cookie turns out!!

Leave a Reply

