My “Baby” Sis Goes to College

by Ashley

Ahhh this morning is already a better day than yesterday!  Ate an easy, but satisfying breakfast that included a small bowl of Grape Nuts cereal, a half of a banana, and cinnamon with vanilla soymilk.  And of course, some iced coffee to get the brain and body moving!

I visited with my hubs for a bit before he left to go play football with some friends, and got straight to my workout.  Today I decided on a new circuit workout that I discovered on one of my favorite blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers.  She calls it the “No Nonsense Circuit Workout”.  Whew, and was it “no nonsense” alright!  I “warmed up” with a fifteen minute jog around the neighborhood and then got to work on the circuits.  They looked like this:

  • Jumping jacks – 50
  • Squats with 25 lb. kettleball – 20
  • Squat jumps – 20
  • Alternating lunges – 20
  • Burpees – 15
  • Push ups (on my knees) – 25
  • Mountain climbers – 30
  • Crunches on exercise ball – 50

I went through it three times, and it took me about 25 minutes.  I was definitely a sweaty mess by the end!  Always a good way to start a day! 😉

Today I wanted to make a “tribute” to my baby sister.  She is leaving today to start her freshman year of college!  Wowee, has time flown!  It makes me sad to think of how fast she’s grown up (I can’t imagine how I’ll feel when I’m a parent! Yikes!), but I am so excited for her too. 

I feel like I just started my freshman year of college!!  How can she already be going off to college?  She’s still my “baby sister”!  Here’s a photo of us in Hawaii the summer before I went off to college.  Just seems like yesterday…

We can be quite the goofballs together…

We know we have to be related because we both have an undying love for peanut butter…

Oh ya, and can’t forget our many dance parties…

So many fun memories I’ll never forget with this girl.  I am so proud of her and can’t wait for her to be able to experience all the fun that goes along with growing up and going to college. 

I love you Lauren, and I’m so proud of you!

 

Leave a Reply

