Breakfast for Dinner

by Ashley

I hope I am not the only one that does breakfast for dinner every once in awhile.  I love it!  It reminds me of when my parents used to sometimes make us breakfast for dinner as a kid.  Now I understand why they do it too!  It’s so easy!  Not only did we not have much food in the house today (I usually go grocery shopping on Mondays), but I also didn’t want to spend a ton of time in the kitchen tonight.  So breakfast for dinner it was!  And it was GOOD! 

I was totally feeling some pancakes, but also I needed to figure out a way to incorporate some veggies into the meal.  I found a zuchinni in our vegetable stash, so what do you think I came up with?  ZUCHINNI OATMEAL PANCAKES!  You might scrunch up your nose to the thought at first, but think about zuchinni bread.  It’s sweet, moist, and you can’t even taste the zuchunni.  I started with the base ingredients that I used in my “Hearty Oatmeal Pancakes” and added about a cup (give or take) of shredded zuchinni. 

Then I mixed it all together.  On a skillet sprayed with cooking spray, I plopped a few “globs” of the batter on it and cooked them on medium-low heat.  When bubbles started coming through the batter, I flipped them over and left them until they were cooked throughout.

 

I prepared a couple cakes with my all-time favorite pancake toppings: a schmear of natural crunchy peanut butter and a drizzle of low-cal mayple syrup.  Delish!

I added a small side of some scrambled eggs and was set!  I love breakfast for dinner!

Zuchinni Oatmeal Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked oats

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoons natural applesauce

1/2 tablespoon baking soda

1(ish) cup of shredded zuchinni

1 cup vanilla soymilk (or milk of choice)

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together.  Coat skillet with cooking spray.  Preheat skillet to medium-low heat.  Drop batter onto skillet in small pancake shapes.  Flip over when batter starts to bubble.  Keep on heat until cooked through.  Top with any of your favorite pancake toppings!  Makes 8 small pancakes.

Questions of the Evening:

  • Do you ever make breakfast for dinner?
  • What’s your favorite breakfast foods?
5 Comments to “Breakfast for Dinner”

  1. We normally make breakfast for dinner on Sundays. My favorite right now is breakfast sandwiches: whole wheat English Muffins, Scrambled Eggs, Canadian Bacon and a Cheese of your choice. My parents had theirs with Sweet Potato Fries and I had mine with a large green salad and a light balsamic dressing. Yum Yum 🙂 We also like to make pumpkin pancakes we substitute butternut squash or sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin. Still tastes the same but it is much easier to find the fresh ingredients year round. We like to try and avoid the canned stuff.

  2. I just LOVE zucchini recipes. I recently baked a zucchini chocolate cake which didnt turn out exactly how it should have so I am going to try again but those pancake look awesome – I will have to try it soon! Thanks for sharing.
    PS. i found your blog from a comment on Courtneys blog (sweet tooth sweet life) and have been looking over some other recipes and stuff, love your blog!

    • Thanks so much!! Try out the pancakes and let me know how you like them! I love zuchinni recipes too, so I’ll eventually put more up I’m sure. I love Courtney’s blog! Glad you found me. 🙂

  3. We love to have breakfasat for dinner. We will have to try your oatmeal zucchini pancakes. Our garden is exploding with zucchini and so we are always looking for a new way to eat them up (for some reason the kids just won’t eat them unless I hide them). Thanks for the recipe!

    • Yes, you should, they’re great! I always love zuchinni bread too. And thank you so much for the zuchunni you gave to Cody! I was so excited when he brought those home. They’re massive! If you ever have an over-abundance of vegetables, feel free to bring them over! 😉

Leave a Reply

