What [Was] For Dinner: (Cauliflower Crusted) Veggie Pizza and Salad

by Ashley

Good morning sunshine!  I definitely have to make up for yesterday’s lack of posting, so here I am.  I have lots to do today, so  thought I’d get right to it! 

I have to fill you in on our scrumptious dinner last night… veggie pizza with crust made out of cauliflower!  Yes, it’s really true!  When I first saw this recipe, I almost couldn’t believe it.  Pizza crust made out of a vegetable?!  I love pizza, but I don’t like the extra fat and calories that come along with the (yummy) crust, so I definitely had to try out this recipe!  I found it here, but I will copy it down here too so you don’t have to be clicking all over the place.  I also revised it a little bit, so take your pick on which one you’d like to use. 

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked, rice cauliflower*

1 egg

3/4 cup mozzarella cheese

1 tsp. oregano

2 tsp. parsley

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Spray cookie sheet or pizza pan with cooking spray.  In a medium bowl, combine riced cauliflower, cheese, egg, and spices. 

 

Press evenly on pan.  Bake for 12-15 minutes (15-20 minutes if you double the recipe).  Remove pan from oven, and add sauce and any toppings you wish!  (I topped mine with sliced tomatoes, spinach, and basil.  Yum!)  Place under broiler on high until cheese is melted.  

*I bought frozen cauliflower and cooked it according to the directions.  I put the cauliflower in my food processor, blended it for a couple seconds, and there I had riced cauliflower! 

Makes 2 servings.  (Unless you have a man that eats for 5!  Hence why I made two pizzas.)

It was mighty tasty!  I even have a few pieces left over for lunch today. 🙂   I made another pizza for Cody that included pepperoni, black olives, and mushrooms (his favorite toppings).  He even gave the *thumbs up* on the cauliflower pizza crust!  It’s a winner folks!  You have to try it!

Now I need to get going so I can check some things off of the “to do list”!  On the list: clean the house, fold laundry, workout, run a few errands, and possibly bake a healthy snack or two.  Catch ya later!

Questions for the Morning:

  • What are your favorite pizza toppings?
  • Do you usually make “to do lists”? 
  • What is your agenda for the day?
6 Comments to “What [Was] For Dinner: (Cauliflower Crusted) Veggie Pizza and Salad”

  1. >Our favorites are spicy Italian sausage, pepperoni, onions, black olives, mushrooms, and jalapenos …or…. shrimp and Italian sausage….or I love Sam’s Club 3-meat pizza, which I bring home and add the onions, olives, and jalapenos. ( You can see, you don’t take after me in your eating habits) : )
    > Yes, I make ‘to do’ lists, at least some of the time. Especially for the weekend….or for the things I have to get done before a trip.
    >So far today, I have trimed off some of the largest seed pods on the Crape Myrtle trees, set sprinklers on the corner tree groves to give them extra water, pulled/chopped weed in the groves and flower beds, cleaned the day lilies and iris of dead stalks and leaves and am now trying to cool down by sitting here on the computer before I make the bed, take my bath, wash my hair, run grocery shopping, come home and can some pickles, plan supper and then start to mow the yard to give Terry a head start on mowing when he gets home.
    I enjoy reading your daily diary….nice way to keep in touch with you.

    • I actually do love Costco’s three meat pizza (very similar to Sam’s Club I’m sure). I buy it on occasion. 🙂

      It sounds like you’ve gotten a lot accomplished today! Good job, I’m impressed!

  2. Hey Ashley! Love the idea of cauliflower pizza crust and I am definitely going to give it a try! I bet Ryan may get excited about this cus’ it is much more healthy than traditional crust!

    As for me, well….I love most pizza but I would have to say my two personal faves right now are canadian bacon and pineapple or a veggie pizza with mushrooms, onions and spinach!

    Ahhhh yes….I always love a great “to do” list! The longer, the better! I enjoy very few things as much as I enjoy striking through an accomplishment during my day!

    As for today, just finished riding and bathing my horses! Now I am going to ride exercise bike, bake your banana bread recipe and get to the grocery store before picking up Ryan at school! Will attempt to run about 5 other errands if I have enough time!

    xoxo

    • Let me know how Ryan likes it! Cody liked it. His only thought was that he felt like he had to eat more of it to fill him up (since it’s not all bready like normal pizza).

      Yes, I know how you are with your lists. 🙂 I’m the same way! Sounds like you had a great day! xoxo

  3. This sounds good! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

