What’s for Breakfast: Sweet Potato Pie Oatmeal and Hot Coffee

by Ashley

Guess what I get to do today?  Take care of this little munchkin!  Isn’t she just too cute?!

She’s one of our friends’ daughters, and I get to take care of her every once in awhile on my days off.  It’s definitely the highlight of my week!  We have all sorts of fun stuff planned for today… I’ll fill you in on all of that later though! 

In the meantime, I have something new for you today!  I got this fabulous idea in my head the other day, and this morning I tested it out… sweet potato pie oatmeal!  Does that sound amazing or what?  Well guys, it truly was! 

I absolutely LOVE sweet potato pie!  It’s one of the dishes I look forward to the most around the holidays.  It’s also one of the dishes that gets me in the most trouble during the holidays because I love it so darn much!  So here it is… a “breakfast version” (or snack, lunch, dinner, dessert, whatever-you-want-to-make-it version) of sweet potato pie that is much healthier but still hits the spot.  Oh, and it’s totally okay if you want to have it not around the holidays!  Have it any time of the year. (I obviously did!)  Below you will notice one of my new bowls, by the way. 😉  It’s not the best photo of it because I had to get the good stuff in the bowl, but I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of it as times goes on!

Sweet Potato Pie Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1 packet Maple Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal (lower sugar)

1/2 (cooked) sweet potato, mashed

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Several mini marshmallows or a couple large marshmallows

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 teaspoons (light) maple syrup

1/4 – 1/2 cup vanilla soymilk (depends on how thick you want the oatmeal)

1 tablespoon walnuts, pecans, or macadamia nuts (or any nut of choice)

Directions:

Put dry oatmeal, water (as directed on package), mashed sweet potato, vanilla, and marshmallows in microwavable bowl.  Cook in microwave according to directions.  Sprinkle cinnamon and drizzle maple syrup on top.  Pour in soymilk.  Stir until mixed well.  Add nuts and extra toppings if desired.   

Let me just tell you that this was fabulous.  Not only did it taste great, but it’s very nutritious, and will keep me going all morning.  It’s definitely a keeper!  I paired the oatmeal with a hot cup of coffee (in my new “A” mug, of course!)…mmmm!

 

Questions of the Morning:

  • What’s your favorite holiday dish?
  • Do you ever try to modify “traditional” dishes into “healthier” versions?  If so, which ones?
4 Comments to “What’s for Breakfast: Sweet Potato Pie Oatmeal and Hot Coffee”

  1. SHE IS ADORABLE….HAVE FUN and that oatmeal looks heavenly, I must try it! My fave holiday dish is STUFFING (my mom makes an amazing one!

  2. She is SOOOOO cute!! I love little girls, they’re always so adorable! My favorite holiday dish is the main dish: turkey!! We got a fresh turkey last year instead of a frozen one, ohmagosh, it was amazing!!
    mmmm- sweet potatoes 😀 yum

Leave a Reply

