Packing A Lunch Vs. Going Out

by Ashley

Happy Friday friends!  This past week just flew by, wow!  I won’t complain though…I’m always glad to see the weekend.

Last night I got to go watch the hubby play some softball! 

Even though softball is far from my favorite sport (sorry softball lovers!), I still love going to cheer Cody and his team on.  I enjoy getting to chat with the other wives too.  It was a beautiful evening last night!  A perfect night to be outside. 

This morning I set my alarm clock to wake up early so I could conquer my workout.  Let’s just say it was far from “conquering” my workout.  I completed it, but I felt like I was moving in slow motion all.morning.long.  I have no idea why either… I slept great, it’s Friday, and I should’ve been moving right through it!  Oh well, it is what it is right?  At least I completed it.

I scarfed down my breakfast… One of my favorite combo of foods that will never ever grow old in my opinion.  (And yes, that’s one of my new lovely plates. 😉 )

As I was packing my lunch this morning, I was trying to decide what I wanted to write about for today’s posts.  One thing I’ve been wanting to discuss for awhile is packing a lunch versus going out for lunch.  I’m a committed “lunch packer”, and I am a full advocate of it.  I would always encourage my clients (when I worked as a personal trainer), to make sure they made it a priority to pack their meals.  Why you ask?  Well here ya go:

  • Going out to eat every day can get so expensive!  Think about it… If you spend an average of $10/day on lunch, that’s over $200/month JUST on your lunches. 
  • Most of the time, you’ll end up consuming 300-500 more calories (and UP!) at a restaurant than if you were to pack your lunch. 
  • Lunch is often a “hurried meal”, in an effort to get back to work on time.  This leads to going to fast food restaurants, which often times include fries, soda, burgers, and…let’s just say way too much “bad-for-you” fat and processed ingredients. 
  • Spending the time to pack your lunch allows you to better think about what foods you need to incorporate into your diet for the lunch meal.  For example, if you didn’t have any fruit at breakfast, you should probably have a serving or two for lunch. 

Often times, people say they’re too busy, or they don’t have time to pack a lunch, or they don’t know what to pack.  Excuses, excuses, excuses. 😉 

Wake up earlier to pack your lunch, or take 20-30 minutes on a Sunday evening to pack your lunches for the week.  It might be hard to remember or get in the habit of doing it at first, but after a few weeks, it’ll be a set part of your daily/weekly routine. 

Some healthy lunch ideas (not limited to):  peanut butter & jelly sandwich (on wheat bread); peanut butter & banana sandwich (on wheat bread); deli meat (turkey, ham, roast beef, etc.) sandwich (on wheat bread); wheat crackers and cottage cheese; a big salad filled with anything you’re feelin’ (be creative!); and best of all, LEFTOVERS!  (They’re easy, yummy, and helps prevent your extra food from going to waste.)

Here’s my lunch for today…spinach salad topped with a random assortment of leftovers I found in the fridge this morning (grilled tomatoes, squash, zuchinni, & chicken, mashed potatoes, and cottage cheese), paired with a peach on the side:

It was quite scrumptious if I do say so myself! 

Pair your “main entree” of your packed lunch with easy sides such as yogurt, fruits, baby carrots, nuts, string cheese, etc.

Take this as a challenge: pack your lunch for the next three weeks, and see how you do.  The first couple weeks will probably be hard, but by the third week, it’ll feel like a normal part of your routine!  Good luck!

Questions:

  • Do you pack your lunch or go out?
  • If you’re a “lunch packer”, what sorts of foods do you pack?
One Comment to “Packing A Lunch Vs. Going Out”

  1. I don’t actually pack my lunch – I buy Lean Cuisines (when they are on sale $2 each) and keep them in the freezer at my office – it’s great, I get to have a tasty (small) and warm lunch while only spending a couple of dollars. Obviously Lean Cuisines are not the healthiest thing but still – at least they are cheap.

Leave a Reply

