Yummy in My Tummy Broccoli Salad

by Ashley

Well friends, apparently the pumpkin oatmeal muffins I made last night were a hit.  They were polished off in no time at church.  Thanks again, Tina, for the great recipe! 🙂

Church was a great time, as always.  I enjoy visiting with our church family every Sunday and hearing about everyone’s week, listening to the encouraging sermon, and coming home feeling refreshed and ready to start another week. 

When we got home from church today, both Cody and I were ready to relax.  He just got back from a camping trip early this morning (I’m so glad he’s home now!) and was exhausted from that, and I guess I just wore myself out this weekend doing…well, not much. 😉  We unpacked all the camping gear and hit the couch to take a little snooze.  I woke up after a little while realizing that I needed to make a salad for our church picnic this evening.  We are having an all church picnic later today and everyone is invited.  I love summer picnics and barbecues, especially with great people!  I am sure it will be a wonderful time. 

I volunteered to bring a salad, and decided on a broccoli salad.  Everyone has their own “version” of broccoli salad, and I guess I have mine too!  Here it is:

Broccoli Salad

Ingredients:

2 large heads of broccoli

8 0z. (1/2 lb.) turkey bacon

3/4 cup raisins

3/4 cup sliced almonds (I’ve also used sunflower seeds)

1 cup light mayonnaise or nonfat Greek yogurt

1/2 cup sugar

2 tablespoons white vinegar

Directions:

Cook bacon in skillet until browned on each side. 

 

Let cool and then chop into little pieces.  Cut broccoli into bite-size pieces.  Add chopped broccoli, bacon, raisins, and nuts into a medium-large bowl.

 

 In a separate bowl, add mayonnaise (or yogurt), sugar, and vinegar.  Mix well. 

 Pour dressing over salad and toss until salad is fully coated.  Chill for at least one hour.  Enjoy! Makes 8-10 servings.

I love this broccoli salad.  The mix of salty and sweet with the broccoli is so delicious.  It’s a great summer salad! 

I finished up the salad and walked into the living room to see this handsome guy still sleeping.  He’s not much of a napper, so he must be pretty worn out! 

Better get my man moving so we can get to the picnic in time!  Catch ya later!

Questions:

  • What do you usually bring to a potluck style picnic/BBQ?
  • What are your typical Sunday plans?

One Comment to “Yummy in My Tummy Broccoli Salad”

  1. I’ve made an almost identical broccoli salad for potlucks. Everyone loves it! I’ve also taken a white chicken chili with cornbread–again a big hit.

    As for Sunday plans: church in the AM; we usually get Rog caught up on grades & other school work and get the classrooom set up for the next week in the afternoon; then in the evening, we have a small group Bible study at a friend’s house.

Leave a comment