Cafe Rio and WinCo

by Ashley

Today one of my girl friends and I planned an afternoon of Cafe Rio and WinCo.  For those of you that don’t live in the Utah area, you might not be familiar with these two fabulous places.  Cafe Rio is somewhat comparable to a Chipotle in that 1) they’re both somewhat Mexican food; 2) you go through a line and tell them what you want on your burrito/salad/tacos; 3) they’re similar in pricing.  Their food tastes ENTIRELY different from one another though.  I discovered Cafe Rio when we first moved to Utah, and it is has been one of my favorite places to eat ever since. 

source

 Another reason I love them:

“We’re up with the sun, squeezing limes and scooping out avocados, baking our fresh desserts and making our signature sauces and salad dressings by hand. We’re not complaining, though. It’s just what we do – kind of like hand rolling every tortilla from scratch, and buying only USDA Choice meats.  With no freezers or Microwaves in our restaurants, we are proud to offer the highest quality, freshest food you will find anywhere.”  –Cafe Rio

My wonderful friend, Mirjam, even offered to cover my meal today since she had a gift card.  She’s so sweet.  Sadly I forgot my camera at home on the kitchen table, so I didn’t get any photos of us at lunch.

What I ate: Chicken breast salad in a wheat tortilla “bowl”(their tortillas are AMAZING!  and yes, Utah natives, they have WHEAT tortillas!) with black beans, no rice, pico de gallo, guacamole (yummm), and cilantro vinagarette.  My belly was quite happy. 🙂 

After lunch we headed on over to WinCo.  I had never been there before because we don’t live super close to one, but I decided it was worth it to try it out and make the trek today.  WinCo is essentially like a Costco or Sam’s Club because it sells many things in bulk, but you don’t need a membership.  It also reminds me of Fry’s Marketplace (in Arizona) because they have TONS of bulk dispensers.  You just grab a bag and fill it up with as much granola, nuts, cereal, candy, coffee, etc. as you want!  HEAVEN!  (Yes, I go grocery shopping with my friends, and it’s our idea of fun…don’t judge. 😉 )  I had to resist numerous times today to not get several bags full of granola and nuts (there were tons!). 

Some of my favorite WinCo purchases of the day:

Freeze dried strawberry fruit chips

Almond butter hand machine grinded by ME!  I obviously had to have a spoon full right when I walked into the door of my house. 🙂

Flax seeds!  I was hoping to find Chia seeds, but sadly they didn’t have any, so I settled.  Flax seeds are still full of great nutrients. 

I also came home with chicken breasts, a spaghetti squash, sweet potatoes, yogurt, and a couple dog bones for the pups.  There could’ve easily been plenty more, but I used the little self control I had to say “no”.  Needless to say, there will definitely be trips to WinCo again in the future. 😉

Questions:

  • Where are your favorite places for lunch?
  • What stores do you do your grocery shopping at?
8 Comments to “Cafe Rio and WinCo”

  1. I wish there was a WinCo where I lived–sounds amazing!!

  2. humm, I will have to check out WinCo. I like the bulk dispensor stuff you mentioned. Is it organic stuff? I get stuff from Smiths Market Place Stores as they have a nutrition center in those stores.. WinCo is closer, but My hubby is the food manager at Smiths…sooooo ya, I make a list and he grabs it on his way home.

    • Some of it is. I’m not huge into everything having to be organic to be honest. I feel like it’s a scam to get you to pay more. I DO believe that it’s worth it when it comes to produce that you need to eat the skin (apples, peaches, strawberries, etc.)

  3. I enjoy cafe styles places for lunch… I really don’t like to eat heavy in the middle of the day, so a salad or soup is perfect for me. Panera is obviously a fav of mine 🙂

  4. I love Mexican Food!!!! I need to find some good food like this up here in Vancouver..I feel we have some good restaurants, but no fun mexican ones!!

    xxoo

  5. I love places like Chipotle! It’s so good! I love the veggie bowls!! I just had spaghetti squash the other night!! One of my favs!

Leave a Reply

