What [Was] for Dinner: Red Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

by Ashley

Mexican food is one of Cody’s and my favorite types of food.  We both grew up in Arizona where the Mexican food was hoppin’.  Unfortunately here in Utah, we’ve only found one or two places that serve quality, authentic Mexican food.  For that reason, I make sure that I cook some sort of Mexican dish for us at least once a week.  I have enjoyed experimenting with various Mexican dishes trying my best to make them tasty but also healthier than traditional Mexican dishes.  Last night, we enjoyed my Red Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas.  Mmmm were they good!  I made them for the first time when Cody and I were dating, and it’s been one of his favorite meals ever since.  (Little does he know, they’re pretty healthy too! I’m sneaky like that. 😉 ) 

Red Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

Ingredients:

2-3 small/medium boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 packet McCormick Enchilada seasoning

1 can (16 oz.) tomato sauce

1 1/2 cups water

1 can (16 oz.) black beans

8-10 whole wheat tortillas

1/2 cup reduced fat Mexican blend (or cheddar) cheese

Directions:

Cut up chicken breasts into small, bite size pieces.  Put in skillet and cook on medium heat.  While chicken is cooking, pour tomato sauce, water, and enchilada seasoning into sauce pan. (Don’t follow the directions/ingredients on the back of the seasoning packet.  They’re different than this recipe.)   

Stir and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer for about 5-10 minutes while stirring. 

 When the chicken is close to being cooked through, add the black beans to the skillet and about 1/2 cup of the sauce.  Let simmer for about 5-10 minutes.   

Pour a spoon full of the sauce into each tortilla and spread evenly over it.  Place a spoon full of chicken and bean mixture into the tortilla and roll up, seam side down.  Place in an 13 x 8.5″ baking dish covered in cooking spray. 

Pour remaining sauce over enchiladas to cover them.  Sprinkle top with cheese.  Bake in oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. 

ENJOY!  (We certainly did!)  Makes 8 (1 enchilada) servings or 4 (2 enchilada) servings. 

I served it with a side salad and some Mexican rice.  YUM!

Questions:

  • What’s your favorite Mexican dish?
  • Do you have any “healthified” traditional Mexican dishes that you make?  (Link me up!) 

P.S.  Did you notice?  I got my own domain!  (i.e. now my web address is www.myfoodnfitnessdiaries.com rather than www.myfoodnfitnessdiaries.wordpress.com)  MUCH less wordier, and now I can call it my own! 🙂 

 

9 Comments to “What [Was] for Dinner: Red Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas”

  1. Those babies look delicious! I love enchiladas and usually make mine with beef and black beans. I have been searching for a recipe with chicken so I will definitely have to try this one. Thanks!

  2. they look soooo good and simple. i love the pics. i would like to try and make the enchilada seasoning from scratch. i do not like seasoning packs because they can be filled with salt and stuff. it was not until i found cumin and Mexican chilly powder that i started making my own chilly seasoning.

  3. Mexican is one of my favorite cuisines as well 🙂 When Will & I first started dating, I made him white cheese chicken enchiladas the first time I cooked for him. Needless to say, I probably indulged a little bit more than he did, if you catch my drift…

    My favorite Mexican dish would probably be a taco salad 😀 mmmmm..

  4. Looks awesome! I could totally stuff mine with tofu and daiya–so great to veganise! 🙂

  5. Love me some enchiladas. They are a go to easy and delicious dinner for us too. 🙂

  6. Thanks for the recipe, I tried it tonight and my husband and I loved it! They were filling and delicious- and super easy.

  7. They look delicious! I’m going to try them!

Leave a Reply

