What [Was] For Dinner: Salmon Twice-Baked Potatoes

by Ashley

Last night was one of those I-really-just-wanna-order-a-pizza-nights.  Cody and I were both exhausted from an only mediocre night of sleep the night before.  (We both never sleep well when camping.)  I resisted though and decided to whip up what was “on the menu” instead.  It motivated me to know that what I’d be cooking is a favorite meal of mine: salmon twice-baked potatoes.  While preparing it, I realized I forgot how simple the meal actually is to make.

Salmon Twice-Baked Potatoes

Ingredients:

4 medium russett potatoes

4-5 oz. cooked salmon (smoked, canned, baked)

1/2 cup fat free sour cream or plain yogurt

1/3 cup fat free milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup favorite cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Bake potatoes in oven for about an hour (or the microwave to make it faster).  Cut baked potatoes in half.  Scoop out pulp of potato being careful not to rip the skin of the potato.  Put the pulp in a mixing bowl along with the sour cream, milk, garlic, salt, and pepper.  Mix well.  Fill each potato skin shell with mixture.  Top with cheese.  Bake in oven for about 15 minutes.  Makes 4 servings (1 whole potato=1 serving)

Pair these delicious spuds with your favorite vegetable, and you’ve got yourself a winner meal!

I’m off to get in a quick workout and then church!  Have a great Sunday!

Questions:

  • What’s your favorite potato recipe? (Link me up!)
  • What are your plans for your Sunday?
17 Comments to “What [Was] For Dinner: Salmon Twice-Baked Potatoes”

  1. mmm these look great! I never thought of adding salmon (or any other type of fish for that matter) to something like this.
    I am so boring, all I ever do with potatoes is bake them… I just can’t get enough of a baked sweet potato with melted almond butter on it 🙂

  2. Yum! Those look super yummy. I’m also a fan of twice baked potatoes and have made this recipe a few times:

    http://lapiattini.com/2010/08/20/twice-baked-potatoes/

    I’ve never had salmon- not much of a fish eater- but I can’t get over how good those look! Maybe mixed in with some favs like cheese and potatoes I won’t even notice.

  3. salmon poatoes? never heard of it!! sounds cool!!

  4. interesting take – thanks for the post

  5. YUM…I need those in my life. Okay, I am kind of mad at you….Granny’s is the best ever and Billy and I are only about fifteen minutes away….where was our invite;)

    • We drove through Provo, and I knew you lived somewhere in the area! I totally should’ve! If you’re ever craving Granny’s, let me know because I’ll be there to meet you in a heartbeat!

  6. That looks delicious! Reminds me of the brocolli stuffed potatoes my mom made growing up. But I like salmon much mroe than broccoli 🙂

  7. Those potatoes look delicious! I’ve never thought about adding salmon to twice baked potatoes, but I should definitely try it! My favorite way to eat potatoes are as baked fried…just a little olive oil, salt & pepper, bake for 45 min at 400F and you’ve got some delicious fries!

  8. Oh my gosh those look delicious!!! Yum 🙂

  9. Here is a recipe for potatoes that I have been using alot lately. In fact I had them when your Dad was home for the weekend. Peel and quarter 3-4 good size potatoes. I like to use the red salad potatoes. Mix 2 tsps. bouillon grains or 2 cubes, 3 Tblsps water and 3 Tbsps butter or margarine. Heat water, butter and bouillon together for 1 min in microwave on High. Stir in potatoes. Cook 6 mins on high and stir. Cook an additional 4 mins on high and stir again. Keep doing this until potatoes are tender and well covered. Let stand for 5 mins. and enjoy.

  10. Love twice baked potatoes! Would never think to do salmon in them. So creative. 🙂

  11. Love potatoes, and twice baked potatoes even more! Haha I am a hard core mashed potato and sweet potato fan as well 🙂

  12. by far my favoit potatodish is potatochips and dip but who dose not like that. next to it is my moms mashed potatos. I have been cooking for about seven years now and i have not masterd the recipe. i try and try and my fiance dose not complain but she hase only had them a few times. they are the favoit at thanksgiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

