Encouraging the Hubby to Eat Healthy

by Ashley

I hope you all are enjoying your Labor Day!  I had a very productive morning that included: a run, laundry, vacuumed, cleaned bathrooms, cleaned kitchen floor, and cleaned appliances.  After lunch, the hubs and I headed out to do a little shopping for some fall decor and jeans for him.  We came home with some cute decorations and a couple shirts for him, but no jeans.  He has the longest legs ever which makes the search a little more challenging.  Not to mention, he is quite picky. 😉  I guess that’s a good thing when you’re spending money though, right? 

After we got home, I decided to search for a healthy snack to make for Cody’s lunches throughout this week.  I looked through several blogs and decided on fANNEtastic food’s Dark Chocolate Granola Bars.  Anything that resembles a chocolate chip cookie is right up Cody’s alley, so I thought this would be a good choice. 

I followed Anne’s directions, but I excluded the walnuts and used semi-sweet mini chocolate chips instead of dark chocolate chips.  Make sure to find the recipe here.

First, I separated the dry ingredients and wet ingredients in different bowls. 

Then I mixed all of the ingredients together with a spatula until thoroughly blended.

I poured the batter in a greased 11×7 baking dish and baked it in the oven at 375 degrees for 30 minutes per Anne’s directions.  This delicious looking dish came out of the oven when the kitchen timer when off.

I let it cool and cut it into 8 bars.  So far, Cody has already eaten a couple of them, so they must be pretty good! 

Sometimes it’s hard for me to get Cody to eat healthy.  He would be happy with his Grandma Sycamore’s white bread and a steak every night if it were up to him.  Luckily, he does enjoy most vegetables.  However, eating consistently throughout the day and choosing healthy snacks is not his forte.  He has definitely gotten better since we’ve been married, but it’s still a challenge at times.  A few things I do to encourage him to eat regularly and to eat healthy:

  • Stock the refrigerator and pantry with fruits, yogurt, and other healthy snacks that he enjoys.
  • Remind him that there are his favorite ______ in the refrigerator so that he’ll eat regularly.
  • Pack his lunch with healthy snacks and fruits.
  • Always include at least one vegetable at dinner.
  • Make homemade healthy treats/snacks on Sunday or Monday for him to munch on throughout the week.

He is recognizing more and more that it’s important to eat regularly and healthy, which I am thankful for.  He even asked me last night after dinner, “Was this a healthy meal?”  I wanted to jump for joy. 🙂

Questions:

  • What homemade healthy treats/snacks do you like to make? 
  • Does your significant other eat healthy?
  • If not, how do you encourage him/her to make healthy decisions without being annoying about it?
6 Comments to “Encouraging the Hubby to Eat Healthy”

  1. Aw, that’s so cute that you pack his lunch :). And I love all of your ideas on how to encourage him to eat healthy!

  2. Luckily my fiance does eat healthy and enjoys most of the same foods that I do. If it’s something he thinks looks “too healthy” I’ll try to somehow sneak it into another meal and then tell him later 😉

  3. I’m glad the granola bars were a hit! Good for you trying to get him healthier 🙂 Great tips!

  4. Those look great! I’m so glad you are trying to get your husband to eat healthier!!

  5. You are such a good wifey! 🙂 My favorite healthy snack is a fruit smoothie. I love to throw in various fruits and yogurt to make a refreshing treat.

    My husband eats pretty healthy. He is actually the one who got me started on my healthy eating.

Leave a Reply

