What’s For Breakfast: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

by Ashley

Happy Labor Day!  For those of you that don’t have work and/or school today, I hope you enjoy enjoy your day off.  I love three day weekends!  One day for work/chores; one day for rest; one day for PLAY!  I believe every weekend should be a three day weekend, what do ya think? 

I woke up to the let the pups outside and was surprised at how “fall-ish” it felt!  There was a cool, crisp air.  It was beautiful!  Fall is in the air, friends!  As I went in the kitchen to make my breakfast, I was naturally feeling something warm and “fall-ish”.  I immediately opted for oatmeal and then noticed I had some pumpkin pie mix in the refrigerator.  Oats + pumpkin pie mix = pumpkin pie oatmeal!  Sounded perfect. 

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 ripe banana

1/3 cup pumpkin pie mix

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1-2 tablespoons your favorite add-in (chocolate chips, flax/chia seeds, raisins, nuts, nut butter, etc.)

Directions:

Bring water to a boil on the stove.  Pour oats in and reduce to medium heat.  Cook for about 4 minutes.  Add the banana, pumpkin pie mix, and cinnamon.  Cook for another 1-2 minutes (depending on how thick you like it).  Take off heat and sprinkle flax or chia seeds on top.  Serve in your favorite bowl and enjoy!  Makes 1 serving.     

And of course I enjoyed my oatmeal with a delicious hot mug of coffee. 

Pumpkin pie oatmeal and hot coffee is a winner combo for a warm, fall breakfast!

Questions:

  • What are your Labor Day plans?
  • Does it feel like “fall is in the air” where you live?
  • What’s your favorite hot breakfast food?
7 Comments to “What’s For Breakfast: Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal”

  1. I really wish I had pumpkin mix right now because this looks perfect.. and it’s so cool out right now, it would be great! I need to go grocery shopping really REALLY soon (it certainly feels like fall is in the air! It went from high of 87 yesterday to high of 65 today)!

  2. Hey ashley! I like your blog. Your breakfast there looks so so good! I love oatmeal but my favourite hot breakfast is eggs on toast or an egg spinach pitta with a ton of ketchup (addict :p). I get what you mean about the fall feeling in the air but I want to hang on to summer eating and dress sense as long as possible – we have 7 months of miserable weather to come – booo!

    • Thanks, and welcome! I’m a ketchup addict too!! 🙂 I agree with you about wanting to hang on to summer… I do love fall, but hate that it’s that much closer to winter (which I despise)!

  3. I am so glad pumpkin is making an appearance again across zeee blog world! So soo good 🙂 Can’t wait to try your combination of this!

  4. we basically had twin breakfasts this morning ❤

  5. YUMM! i love pumpkin pie oats in the fall 🙂

  6. awww sounds so welcoming 🙂 so simple to. my fiance made apple pie this weekend 🙂 and she always said that she wanted three day weekends and now that she has them nothing has changed. we end up doing work for the hole weekend and as usual less play like it was a two day weekend. sometimes we get lucky but the chores do not seem to end. maybe it is because we own birds ??? in any case i was always told that working keeps me honest but i know i like some time off too 🙂

Leave a Reply

