Archive for August 20th, 2011

August 20, 2011

Yoga and Frozen Yogurt

by Ashley

First, let’s just clarify that I love frozen yogurt WAY MORE than yoga.  Not that they’re even comparable or anything, but just sayin’.  In fact, I probably like most things in life more than yoga.  I gave it a shot again this morning, but I guess I’m just not a “yoga person”.  First of all, I just suck at it.  I feel awkward and laugh at myself pretty much the whole time.  Second of all, I just enjoy more intensity I think.  I love that “high” you get from running like a crazy person or doing too many burpees. 

I think I had this look on my face pretty much the whole time I was doing my yoga DVD this morning.  (What the heck am I doing?!)

In no way am I trying to “diss” yoga whatsoever.  In fact, I totally admire all you yoga-ers out there because I wish I could do it.  I have tried way too many times to count, and yeah, let’s just say no yoga for Ashley.  Good thing I was in my living room and no one could see me because it would have been quite the entertainment I am sure.  Maybe in a year I’ll forget how awkward I felt and how I was laughing at myself the entire time, and try it again.  I do have to say that it did help loosen up my incredibly sore body.  Thank goodness because I felt like I was moving like a 95 year old woman when I got out of bed this morning. 

Anyways, on to more exciting things… FROZEN YOGURT!  I met one of my good friends I use to work with at a new frozen yogurt place that we hadn’t been to before.  It was, “eh”.  There weren’t very many flavors or toppings compared to some of my other favorite places.  I think I am starting to get snobby about frozen yogurt places.  Regardless, my frozen yogurt tasted de – lish!  I totally forgot to snap a photo of my bowl because I was so excited about eating it.  Oops!  That always happens with me when it comes to frozen yogurt or ice cream.  I had a mix of Caramel Fudge Eclair, Banana, and Vanilla flavored fro-yo with a sprinkle of chopped pecans, a sprinkle of Butterfinger “crumbs”, and a couple little chunks of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  Yummy in my tummy.

I also had a wonderful time with this beautiful lady.  (I did remember to get a picture of us…whew!)

I miss working with her so much!  It was really nice to catch up with her and hear how she has been doing.  I think we sat there and chatted for close to two hours!  It was great.  I love good friends. 

Questions:

  • Do you enjoy yoga?  (Please tell me how to!)
  • What’s your favorite frozen yogurt combinations? (i.e. flavors and toppings)

 

 

 

 

August 20, 2011

Cookie and A Movie

by Ashley

Last night I was scrolling through movies on Netflix, and I came across this total oldie but goodie!

I love this movie.  I was so excited!  It’s one of those movies I totally forgot about, so when I saw it as I was browsing movies, I immediately knew it was the one I was going to watch.  I opted for Tina’s 3 minute cookie instead of some ice cream, and boy, did it hit the spot people!  I revised my cookie a little bit with it looking like this:

3 minute cookie (Ashley’s Version)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup oats

2 tsp. brown sugar

2 tsp. whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 mashed ripe banana

1 tablespoon mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a microwave safe bowl. 

 Flatten cookie out on bottom of bowl into a cookie shape.  Cook in microwave for 45 seconds.  Let cool and enjoy!

Tina’s version calls for an egg white instead of banana, she used white all-purpose flour and I used whole wheat, and she uses raisins and cinnamon instead of chocolate chips.  I’m totally a chocolate chip cookie person over oatmeal raisin.  Don’t get me wrong, I won’t pass up any warm, chewy cookie.  If I have to choose though, I’ll definitely go with the chocolate chip.  I really enjoyed the cookie! 

Last time I made it, I did use egg white, and it wasn’t quite as moist and chewy as it was this time with the mashed banana.  However, if you don’t like the taste of banana in your cookie, I’d go with the egg white, as it was still delicious!  Another difference I noticed from the egg white to the banana is that it’s much more “moist and mushy” with the banana, so I had to eat it with a spoon.  I didn’t mind though, my belly still loved it! 

This morning I plan on doing some form of exercise… I am pain achingly sore, so I don’t think my initial plan of strength training is an option.  I was considering yoga?  I’ve never been a big yoga person, but I keep trying it with the hope that I’ll finally discover I like it.  Or maybe a light jog?  Hmm…  I’ll fill you in on what I decide later today! 😉 

I am SO STOKED to go meet up with a good friend of mine later today.  I haven’t seen her in way too long, so it will be really nice to catch up.  Not only that, but we’re meeting for some good ol’ FRO-YO!  Um, yes please!! 

See you later today friends!

Questions:

  • What’s one of your favorite “oldie but goodie” movies?
  • Do you have a favorite snack to munch on while watching a movie?
  • What workout/type of exercise do you do when you’re really sore?
  • What are your plans for the day?