Archive for August 26th, 2011

August 26, 2011

Foodie Questionnaire

by Ashley

Hi all!  I hope your Friday is going well so far.  It’s moving kind of slow in my neck of the woods, but I can’t complain too much!  This caramel popcorn with almonds, pecans, and cashews that has been staring me in the face all day at work has been getting me through.  It’s so addicting! 

I came across this “foodie questionnaire” that I thought would be kind of fun to fill out considering a good portion of my blog is about food and all.  Hope you enjoy! 

* Sweet or Savory?
I have the biggest sweet tooth in the world, I swear.  There’s definitely moments when I crave something savory, but it’s sweet most of the time.

* Which ingredient(s) do you use the most?
Peanut butter and garlic powder. (NOT together 🙂 )

* What is your most favorite cooking sound?
Hmm, interesting question.  Something yummy sizzling in a skillet on the stove.

* In the kitchen, what’s your most treasured possession?
My knives!

* Is there a food you will not eat?
Mayonnaise

* What food is your guilty pleasure?
Cookie dough!  Homemade, store bought… I love it all. 

* Have you ever changed how you feel towards a food?
Oh yes, several times.  I used to hate tomatoes with a passion, and now I have them at least once a day.

* Which food website/ or blog would you die without?
Peanut Butter Fingers by Julie; Carrots ‘N’ Cake by Tina; Sweet Tooth Sweet Life by Courtney are my faves.

* What is your favorite food shopping experience?
Costco!  Free samples and lots of yummy food to take home!  I recently just discovered WinCo too, and I love it.  They have tons of bulk dispensers of granola, nuts, cereal, candy, etc.

* If you could move, which country would you move to for the food?
Italy!  Bread and wine PLEASE!

* What’s the dress code in the kitchen when you cook?
Comfy and casual.  Something that I don’t care if I spill on because I tend to be a messy cook/baker.

* What food would you prepare to impress someone?
My red chicken and black bean enchiladas or one of my Thai curry dishes

* What food are you craving right now?
Ice cream!

* What is your comfort food?
Pizza, Mexican food, warm chocolate chip cookies

I’m off to run to Costco for a few items and make some dinner for the evening.  Have a wonderful Friday night!

Questions:

  • Now it’s your turn!  You answer some of the questions on the questionnaire.  C’mon, I wanna hear ’em! 🙂
August 26, 2011

“Business After Hours” Cocktail Party

by Ashley

Last night Cody and I got the opportunity to attend an event called “Business After Hours” for the Small Business Administration here in Salt Lake City.  Cody’s business, Rapid Recovery, is a small business here in Salt Lake, so he thought it’d be worth it to join the administration.  The “Business After Hours” is an event the Small Business Administration puts on that is essentially a cocktail party for small businesses to network and build relationships within the area.  Cody wanted me to join him, and I didn’t pass it up when I was told there was going to be yummy food and drinks!

Pics before we left (it was windy):

Take two (that’s better!):

When we got there, we got our name tags and two free drink tickets each. (SCORE!)

We had a nice time mingling with other small business owners/employees.  Cody found that most of the people there wouldn’t really “help” him and his business efforts much, but nonetheless, we had an enjoyable time getting to know other small business owners and their stories.

I particularly enjoyed the sample spread they catered from Biaggi’s Italian Cuisine.  They offered bruschetta, stuffed mushrooms, and chicken skewers.  I of course had to try all three with a chardonnay wine to accompany my plate.  The bruschetta and the stuffed mushrooms were definitely my favorite.  The chicken was “so-so”, but the other food made up for it.  I was tempted to go back for more (considering it was my “dinner”), but decided to save room for dessert.

They had a dessert sampler spread as well, which I was obviously excited about.  I treated myself to a mini cream puff, mini vanilla bean cheesecake, and mini chocolate cheesecake.  The mini vanilla bean cheesecake was my favorite.  The cream puff was descent, but good cheesecake will always win in my opinion. 

I was pleasantly surprised at how full I felt when we left.  I think a bigger-than-normal lunch at Cafe Rio helped.  These events are always a fun way to get to sample new foods and drinks.  I definitely look forward to more! 

Off to get my run on and then head to work!  Happy Friday!